A few things on my mind

A little boy called Hudson

Posted on: September 19, 2013

I don’t like kids. I like my friends kids and mostly because I like their parents. I met this little boy a few months ago called Hudson. His mom, Andrea works with me and is my friend. I am fortunate enough to work with great people – making the place where I work quite cool. So she brought Hudson over to the office to meet his extended family. We were all made to sanitise our hands – washing them was not good enough;-) See Hudson was little over 4 months and he had just survived his first heart surgery. He had been diagnosed with CHD. I took a peek at the scar across his chest and thought ‘SJB’.  His dad, Nick, was parading him around the office – had never seen a man so proud.I know I said I would not mention names, but this is going to be an exception. I need to tell you about these extraordinary people. 

Hudson died a few weeks after I met himWhen I heard, my heart went out to Nick and Andrea, mostly because I could not possibly imagine how one deals with such shit. But where this story normally ends, this would be the beginning of Andrea, Nick and Hudson’s journey. 

In honour of Hudson, today Andrea and Nick launched the Hudson Initiative – go to hudsoninitiative.org – aimed at creating awareness on CHD. I was looking at Andrea and Nick this morning and watching them speak of their son, I thought what extraordinary people these are. Andrea comes to work everyday and manages to laugh and behave normally. Nick remains a beautiful human being and one of the nicest people you will ever get to meet – and I wondered what shit are these people on. Nonetheless, I was inspired today, I saw the true strength of the human spirit. And then dear old Hudson, only 4 months old in this world and he is going to save many other little souls.

I guess it is true,  that “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” 

So I am going to ask you to  go on that site and sign the petition to have this test be made mandatory so we can help Hudson save lives.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

