A few things on my mind

A good friend, superpowers and lesbians….

Posted on: September 30, 2013

I have for long time been telling my daughter that she has super powers and as she grows older, it was getting harder to demonstrate how these powers actually work. I then came up with a brilliant plan, I told her she can open robots and keep them open for me so I don’t get stuck in traffic – something that she know I hate with all my heart.  So she has taken to these powers like a duck to water and something she is very proud of that she can do to help me. This I have to mention takes special skill from me, I  need to anticipate the ones that are going to open soon and ask for help in time, and for the ones I know we are not going to make them, blame the motorists in front of me for driving slow and wasting her powers. It is hard work making someone feel special.    

This past weekend she had a friend over, same age and as we are driving together, my child straps herself in, ensures that her friend is strapped in and gets on robot opening duty. Sitting in front I cringe as she says this out loud. Her friend is going to hear and reveal that not only that she not have those powers but I am a big fraud. All good friends are the ones that oust your parents.

Surprisingly enough, her friend believes her and the ride becomes an experience – and she is amazed by her friend’s powers to a point where she asks if I can give her the same superpowers. When I was telling my friends about this – I said they were naïve, but was corrected that no, children are just innocent souls – and we should let them be innocent for as long as possible.

Our ride was to go see two friends of mine that I have not seen in a long time. She could not remember who they were and to jog her memory, I said, they are the ones whose wedding we went to and there is a photo of you, me and daddy at their wedding –“Oh the one where I am wearing my purple dress? I remember” Now in my explanation, I made reference to these two friends’ gender and now their wedding. I know my daughter well enough to hear the wheels turning in her head while trying to solve a complex problem. Few minutes later she says, “But mommy you said she and they are married, are they both girls?” “Yes baby, they are both girls” “But how can they be married then?” “Cause some girls who love each other marry each other” 

Yes I am aware that I botched that one big time. Never thought I would have to explain gay relationships to my seven year old and that was my attempt – feeble as it was – to make sure she got the right message. Her final word on the subject was “Mommy, I am so confused right now” And it was fine for now – I thought, I will go buy a book and read up on explaining your aunties are gay;-)

When we got to their house, they had their house painted blue – which was an immediate hit. When their the dogs came out they were over the moon, then they brought out a box of costumes for dress up – which transformed them to witches and aliens in blue hair. The day was a success – tucking them in at night, I got “Mommy that was the best day ever!”

Raising children is hard but with good friends, some magic and of course gay aunties, it is a little less so. 

1 Response to "A good friend, superpowers and lesbians…."

Leave a Reply

