A few things on my mind

There is a storm brewing…inside me

Posted on: February 5, 2015

storm

Today I heard an interesting explanation of spirituality. Being in touch with your spirituality is knowing that your existence is meaningless without a meaningful existence of those around you. And all the pieces just seemed to fall into place. This was the reason why I can’t sleep at night. The plight of those around me is keeping me up at night. My soul is bothered – I cannot hear of another innocent child being raped, another brutal murder, robbery….

I know that I am not alone because my friend said to me recently “The convenience of my middle class life is suffocating me”.  Too many people died and continue dying while I keep pretending to be an ostrich. An ex-colleague of mine left a lucrative job to go join a movement because ‘evil thrives when good men do nothing’. I have for long time not known what to do with all the things wrong in my beautiful country and I still don’t know – but inaction gets me no closer to knowing let alone sleeping.

So I have an idea. If you are reading this and agreeing with me, how about we start a movement that galvanises people? You are required to donate two very valuable things – your skill and time.

And let’s see if we can find other like-minded people who are willing to do the same and we donate our time and skill to help address the fact that our people are going to bed hungry, our children don’t have day care centres, the long queues at hospitals and clinics; and yet there are millions of our people sitting without a job or purpose. Imagine if we could inspire, teach and up-skill one person out of their situation.

If interested – inbox me with the following:

  1. Name
  2. Contact details (cellphone number and email address)
  3. Township close to you
  4. Area of interest/passion
  5. The skill you are offering

So, please share this note with as many people as you can –the more hands on deck- the more effective we will be.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

